Church Seasons

The Christian Calendar is organised around two major seasons, Christmas and Easter.  Everyone knows when Christmas and Easter occur as they are holiday seasons and even financial institutions such as the banks have time off at these times.  So the major Christian sacred times are:

Christmas Season:

  • Advent (the 4 Sundays before Christmas Day)
  • Christmas
  • Epiphany

Easter Season

  • Lent, the 40 days before Easter
  • Holy Week (the week before Easter)
  • Easter (Good Friday, Easter Sunday and between)
  • Aldersgate Sunday celebrates the day that Methodist founder John Wesley found his faith
  • Pentecost (the 6 weeks after Easter

Ordinary Time

  • the weeks between Pentecost and Advent

See the menu to Church Seasons for more information on some of these sacred times

Sanderstead Methodist Home Page